Saint Apache – Wolf Machine EP

Saint Apache used to feel like the result of what happens when Deep Purple meets Thin Lizzy who then get smashed together and end up shagging Johnny Rotten, who just happened to be on his way back from a Royal Blood gig!

We’ve been listening to their upcoming EP “Wolf Machine”, which recently tumbled into our inbox and is out on July 21st.

Now, this is still a band in its infancy. Yes, it’s raw and it’s visceral but, unlike their last EP, where the songs came from the ‘Call & response’ style of interplay between singer (Thom) and band (Leo – Guitar; Luis -Bass, and Adam – Drums), with Wolf Machine I feel they have developed and matured a bit.

wolf machine 1

They sound fuller and louder, and the pace of these four songs doesn’t let up. They’re still working to formula, however and I’d like to hear something more vocally & lyrically ambitious to match the bite of the band.

They’re upping their game and this is a definite step in the right direction. I feel they’ll be around for a while.

Track listing:

  • You’re Not A Slave
  • The Story Doesn’t End Here
  • Half Way Dead
  • Wolf Machine

For more information on the band and their new EP release, visit their Facebook page at

Fractures : Different Perspective EP


The new Different Perspective EP by Worcester-based metalcore act Fractures dropped into my inbox earlier this week.

I’ve listened to it.

Now, I’m open minded and old enough to know that somewhere, there’s a market for everyone. I really can’t explain Jedward, Renee and Renate, Joe Dolce or Keith Harris and Orville any other way. So I’m content in the knowledge that out there, there’s a willing audience for Fractures.

I’m not it. And here’s why…

As it evolved in the late sixties and seventies, Rock and Metal brought something new, something different, something decidedly sharp-edged. There was a very real sense of anarchy against the rather staid, rather polished music that had come before. Punk carried this on and once more offered an alternative that you just didn’t get anywhere else. The 2-Tone explosion mixed punk riffs with old Jamaican ska to bring a freshness and vitality to the music scene.

These days, far too many metal bands forget that individuality is still important if you want people to remember you, even seek you out. You’re never going to get their adulation, their time, or more specifically their money, if you deliver something formulaic.

Different Perspective really doesn’t threaten to break the mold on any level. There’s repetitive, generic double-kick rhythms a-plenty, but nothing particularly different. The guitars are turned up to eleven and pretty much thrown at you, so that you can’t really pick up much of the musicianship involved in the process. And the vocals are the standard vocoderized devil-growl that no doubt wets the pants of the target audience, but leaves the rest of us wondering what the hell they are saying.

I guess my problem – and I fully admit it may be my problem – is that I have listened to so much good music, I am far less tolerant of formulaic blandness, however loudly and violently it is delivered. For some, that’s what you want, and good luck to you. If that’s you, you can find more info on the guys at and I know the band will appreciate your support.

Sadly, I’ve heard better, far too often. Sorry guys, but you’re not for me.

Track listing:

  • No One
  • Crown Your Convictions
  • Ashes To Fall
  • Different Perspective
  • The Creator
  • Never Hope, Never Want
  • Waiting

Shadows Of Violence – Rise


Sadly, I’m old enough to have lived through the ‘golden age’ of rock. Bands like AC/DC. Iron Maiden. Thin Lizzy. Motorhead. Bands now seen as ‘classic’ by many, and as ‘old grandad music’ by many more. And from these, we have today’s metal scene.

These days, there’s a definite formula for metal. It includes complex rhythms underpinned by a driving, solid 4/4. It includes guitars that fill your head with several chords, with at least one fast-fretworked solo designed to show off the sick skills of the lead guy. It includes lyrics that are hurled to the far wall with more focus on volume and power than on obeying the rules.

Rise, by Sounds Of Violence, meets all of these criteria, and meets them with a vengeance.

Based in Leeds, the band formed in 2006 and Rise is their latest EP.

Now I’m much more  a ‘classic’ man, so shared the tracks with a few colleagues in the office, who declared that they liked the sound, because “I like Cradle Of Filth”, and even hinted at a similarity to early Metallica.

Whether you fall into the classic camp like myself, or are more likely to be found in the mosh-pit at parties rather than the kitchen, there’s no denying the raw energy and dynamism of Shadows Of Violence.

If metal’s your thing, go check them out.


Rise track listing:

  • Breeding Vengeance
  • Green Eyed Monster
  • Scars Of A Fractured Mind
  • Swing For The Lights
  • Through The Looking Glass

Shadows Of Violence are: Vocals – Chris Moules; Guitars – Martin Haigh, George Watts; Drums – Michael Burrows; Bass – Kieran Mitchell